The Long-Tailed Star

• Baron

“Yes, Master, but what is it?” The student held his reed pen tightly over the papyrus, watching the lecturer expectantly.

The man at the front of the room looked up from his notes, pausing in the middle of his speech. A tiny bead of sweat rolled down the back of his neck. I’m not meant for this, he thought. I’m a tutor, I’ve never done a seminar before!

“Well, beyond what I’ve already covered, we...” he looked at the rest of the students, about twenty in all. “We don’t know. An unsatisfactory answer, yes, but one a scholar mustn’t be afraid to admit.”

“Why don’t we know? Did Yongit never tell us?”

The lecturer disliked this kid more and more. “No, unfortunately. If God did import the truth of the comet to us, that information was lost. All we can say is that which can be observed: that it has returned exactly one thousand years later, down to the day, that its trail is comprised of colors not found in any other stars, and that it moves miles each day across the sky, likely to depart in a few days.” Most of the students nodded, some scribbling down notes. However, some, including the previous questioner, appeared dissatisfied. He raised his pen again, speaking before the lecturer acknowledged him.

“Is there nothing at all in the writings of Yongit that mention the comet?”

“What? Well…” He began shuffling through his notes, thumbs fumbling between the thick sheets of parchment. “Surely, of course…” The deepness does this kid want? I’m not a Courtly theologist, I’m an astronomer!

“Yes, Yongit mentions the comet several times,” came a new voice from the doorway. An older woman, dressed in plain white qaftan and headdress, she was shorter than average, but smiled at the assembled students. She walked in and stepped up next to the lecturer. “Though never in any serious significance, so if you hope to find some holy meaning in this funny star in the sky, I’m afraid to say you’ll be disappointed.” A few students laughed.