A Day in Byria

• Baron

Byria is a small, loud town. Not because of any visitors, the place is hard to find, but the people, we are loud! We would be happy but alas, we’re always working! Half of us risk our lives in the deep mines and the other half slave away in the factory. Our children go to the small schoolhouse and the wives, well they work in the factory with their husbands. All the little delicate operations, golem making is hard work. Takes lots of hands to get it done as quick as we do. Even the uppity nobles have their tasks to do. Then again that might because they don’t trust us common folk with the important jobs. They’re picky, if something ain’t perfect, it’s thrown out.

I work as a house servant for the noble in command. The name’s Caitlin. Lots of folk seem to think I’m rather pretty, so I guess I’m a nice little thing to tend to their hearths. I overhear lots workin’ here. Did ya know Ambrosio, he’s the guy in charge ‘round here, is the son of the Vasilias? Eternal they call him. Real scary man. he rides through here every once in a while. Makes Ambrosio get all up in a fuss! He gets so nervous, screams at everything that moves, don’ think he sleeps a wink! When the Vasilias comes-a-callin’, ‘im and Eternal will lock the factory off from everyone and we get the day off. When they come out all the golems are alive! Guess they can’t have anyone knowin’ the secrets of how to make a golem come to life. When he leaves I’m pretty sure Ambrosio sleeps for a day straight! The brand new golems go with Eternal to Salina.