Vashe's Application

• Good tidings, your majesties, excellencies, and beyond.

You don’t know me, but I have spent a lifetime getting to know the peoples of our world. I’m Vashe Miro, an archaeologist by vocation, a trader by profession, and a Boyar by concession.

By concession, you might ask? That, in fact, is why I come to you today. My family were princes not so long ago – we had a contented populace and a fair amount of riches in lands far up north. We were comfortable, but in those lands being comfortable gets you killed.

My mother, Princess of Szilan, was above petty disputes with her neighbors, and she had an army of skilled diplomats to ensure we kept our position. I, rather than practice martial skills, took charge of her merchant fleet. I made us money, but more importantly I took my ships to the ruins of old and learned new techniques – of farming, masonry, sailing, and more.

During those good years I organized the explorers into a proper order, the Pedlars of Saga. The broad range of knowledge we had acquired allowed our people to prepare for just about any historical eventuality.

A few years ago, though, we had a particularly harsh winter. We thought we were prepared to weather the storm with our newfound harvest schedule and grain storage systems, and we were right. Our people barely got by while those around us starved. Then our neighbors demanded we share our excess stores, and we had nothing left to give. All the diplomats in the world couldn’t convince our starving brethren that we, well-fed and warm by our hearths, still cared for them.

We were attacked. To call it a war would be to give my country too much credit. Within a week, my mother was killed, and my family was forced to relinquish our position as princes. Many still trusted our leadership, though, and the rest of us were allowed to leave. Any food was seized but we kept some of our riches, and we have maintained a lifestyle of traders.